Pages

Friday, June 1, 2012

Poke!

Had the first successful IV insertion of my PGI life yesterday. Yes, the FIRST. Because the two other times I tried, I failed. Dismally. I guess you could cut me some slack because those two hands which tested my skills  were incredibly swollen. Still, at this level, I should be doing these stuff with my eyes closed. I have an MD degree, for goodness' sake.

And just last March, I was so proud of my IV insertion skills.

(Sigh. Sigh. Sigh.)

I'm out of practice. We have senior clerks, who do those procedures, which leaves me with no people to poke. In reality, I guess I've been avoiding IV insertions in general.

Did I mention I actually wanted to be an anesthesiologist? Yes. Me. Klutzy me who can't do difficult IV insertions.

My manual dexterity coupled with my inherent timidity and fear of hurting other people makes me unfit for such a dare-devil job. (Sigh.) I suppose I'd do very well in Internal Medicine, except for the fact that very sick adult people depress me. And I love Pediatrics, but very healthy kids kind of bore me. So hit me now, because I don't know which direction my life is heading. I guess I'm just going with the flow.

My Internal Medicine rotation is doing well, so far. The residents are great. I learn something new everyday (that is, when I'm not falling asleep at the back during morning endorsements). We don't have senior clerks for June, which means I now have an ample amount of people to poke with needles, and no excuse not to poke them.

Next month, I'll be rotating in Anesthesia for two weeks. I guess then I'll see if my fascination for Anesthesia will hold. Until then, I'll be poking people and hoping I do it right.




Bells & Babies

I'm a social recluse and what's great about Facebook is the fact that at least I get to know the latest tidbits about almost everybody else's lives. 

So recently I found that an old high school friend got married, that my kindergarten-to-highschool classmate is having his third child, that another high school friend just recently gave birth to her second child, that a single classmate just went on vacation somewhere, and stuff along that line. 

It makes me feel... ODD, I guess.

What the heck! The people I used to play tag with have toddlers and babies and are going on vacations to places I can only dream of.

I'm 25 years old, with a medical degree, currently doing her post-graduate internship. And I'm still VERY MUCH dependent on my parents. PGIs don't get salaries so mama still has to send me a weekly allowance. I guess that's partly why my parents still keep track of where I am and are ever vigilant in making sure I'm home by EIGHT O'CLOCK. I'm still under their care and am accountable to them. Either that or they've forgotten that I'm no longer 15.

All in all, as much as I slightly envy my friends for their freedom and maturity in handling their own affairs, I'm also very much aware that I am in no condition for marriage, or kids, or even a vacation to Singapore. I can hardly take care of myself, or do my own laundry. I am in no fit state to take care of another human being for at least ten more years. 

My plan is to at least have one kid in between ages 30-35. That sounds pretty reasonable to me. By then, I'd be done with Residency, and probably even Fellowship. Also, by then Bo will be financially-stable and able to buy milk for the baby.


Until then, I'll just be content with a few stolen moments at the nursery, coddling somebody's newborn, and liking everybody's changed Facebook status and baby pictures.