So recently I found that an old high school friend got married, that my kindergarten-to-highschool classmate is having his third child, that another high school friend just recently gave birth to her second child, that a single classmate just went on vacation somewhere, and stuff along that line.
It makes me feel... ODD, I guess.
What the heck! The people I used to play tag with have toddlers and babies and are going on vacations to places I can only dream of.
I'm 25 years old, with a medical degree, currently doing her post-graduate internship. And I'm still VERY MUCH dependent on my parents. PGIs don't get salaries so mama still has to send me a weekly allowance. I guess that's partly why my parents still keep track of where I am and are ever vigilant in making sure I'm home by EIGHT O'CLOCK. I'm still under their care and am accountable to them. Either that or they've forgotten that I'm no longer 15.
All in all, as much as I slightly envy my friends for their freedom and maturity in handling their own affairs, I'm also very much aware that I am in no condition for marriage, or kids, or even a vacation to Singapore. I can hardly take care of myself, or do my own laundry. I am in no fit state to take care of another human being for at least ten more years.
My plan is to at least have one kid in between ages 30-35. That sounds pretty reasonable to me. By then, I'd be done with Residency, and probably even Fellowship. Also, by then Bo will be financially-stable and able to buy milk for the baby.
Until then, I'll just be content with a few stolen moments at the nursery, coddling somebody's newborn, and liking everybody's changed Facebook status and baby pictures.
No comments:
Post a Comment