Pages

Monday, October 31, 2011

Knots & Stitches

We were supposed to have our orientation for the surgery clerkship this morning. But since it was announced at around 6 am this morning (via text message), it did not give ample time for two of my groupmates to arrive on the city in time.

So orientation was cancelled but the day wasn't a total waste because I got to join the other interns (there are two groups rotating in Surgery, the Seniors and the Juniors) for their suture mini-workshop, which involved doing sutures on huge chunks of pork (which we'll feast on tomorrow!) and doing surgical knots.

I had fun doing the surgical knots. I'm such a klutz and I always have a hard time following simple motor commands. So I was thrilled when it did not take me an unreasonable amount of time to learn the knots.

I am excited. I believe surgery will be fun. So I hope I don't get disappointed.

We'll be the Surgery Junior Interns starting tomorrow. The interns on their second month will be the Seniors. I'm also on duty on my first day (which kind of sucks because tomorrow is a holiday which means office hours starts at 12 noon).

I might also get to scrub in a case tomorrow. The interns on duty tonight will update us on the OR cases for tomorrow. I absolutely have to review my surgical handwashing and all that stuff.

I hope I do well on this rotation. It's sayang that I spent my entire vacation month (Community Med / Skin Clinic Rotation) reading novels. I had plans of reviewing anatomy. Keyword: plans. I am hopeless.

<3

Life Updates

This will be quick life update:

1. WE WON THE HALLOWEEN PRESENTATION! This really deserves a post of its own because I want to describe how gay I was with the feathers glued to my face and the really long fake eyelashes and the glitters all over my hair. And I haven't even started on the costume.

2. Doug the Dog is gone. We finally gave her away. Or rather, somebody finally accepted her. And the good news is that her new family finds her super adorable. I also find her adorable. That is, when there's no poo and pee all over the house. Which is not often. So all in all, I'm just happy Doug (she's probably named Coffee or Sweetheart or something girly now) is happy with her new family. I couldn't bear the thought of giving her to the man who sells fish because I have images of Doug being chained and mistreated and given fish guts for dinner and stuff. So everybody's happy and all's well.

3. Vacation's over and I'm starting surgery tomorrow. In fact, by 9 am today, I'm supposed to be in the hospital for the orientation. I am excited, kind of. I have downloaded a lot of surgery ebooks and I hope I do well in this rotation. I have 2 months of surgery, which means I'll be in Surgery during Christmas. They say it's not too bad. But what I'm really excited about is getting the chance to be up close to anesthesia procedures. We don't have an anesthesiology rotation. Yes, I still have dreams of going into anesthesiology. I will definitely write more of the surgery rotation (unless of course I just collapse in bed everytime I get home... which is more likely.)

That's all folks.

Rabo Day Part 2

At last. (Yeah, I've got procrastination issues.)

Rabo Day itself started in the most normal way possible. I went to duty at the Skin Clinic while Bo slept the morning away at Diaz's place. I came around 12 and we had lunch together. Or at least I ate lunch and he watched.

Our plans for the afternoon include watching a movie. Keyword: Plans.

We spent the rest of the afternoon hanging out at his house. I had practice that evening for Halloween Dance Presentation and I texted an excuse which i then sent to MY MOTHER!

So now I had to get home as fast as I could in case my mother asks why I'm NOT AT PRACTICE AND NOT AT HOME at the the same time. I could tell her it was Bo's birthday but then she'd probably say we already had a party the day before. (I live in constant fear of not being at home when mama calls.)

So anyway, I kind of panicked and Bo got mad. But the thing is, we're both passive-aggressive so our fights are kind of like this.

BO: *super silent*
Me: Are you mad at me?
Bo: No. *silence*
Me: You're mad at me.
Bo: I'm not mad at you. *obviously mad in a silent passive-aggressive way*

I was supposed to do the grocery that day and he insisted that we do it since we haven't done anything at all that day. He was super silent all the way and it made me frustrated and miserable at the same time because it was his birthday and all I did was to make him mad.

To make a long story short, I was so mad and miserable that I ended up in tears, which only made him annoyed. But I guess it did the trick because by the time we were nearly home, he wasn't quite mad anymore.

We ended up making his birthday dinner. He asked his mother for a complicated recipe which involved chicken and pineapple tidbits. I am hopeless in the kitchen by the way so I offered to do the dishes afterwards and to pay for all the dinner expenses.

When we got home, it was a DISASTER. I think I've mentioned Doug the Dog before. That puppy knows only a few things in this life. It involves eating, sleeping, eating, peeing, eating, shitting. So when I got home, there was all this lovely puddles of pee and mounds of poo in various strategic corner of the house (something about marking territories, probably) which I HAD TO CLEAN UP. Being sick doesn't help matters and even my stuffy nose did not protect me from the yucky aroma of doggy poo.

But in the end, I managed to clean up while Bo scolded Doug and trapped him in a big box.

He then proceeded to dish up a meal and I'm not saying this because I'm biased (or maybe I am) but it tasted pretty good. The dessert was another matter. It was so sweet and I couldn't take more than a few bites. I think there's still some kaong swimming in condense milk (all the pineapple tidbits got selectively eaten) in the refrigerator.

We then finished watching the Warrior's Way. (PS. I so love the baby!)

And so that ends Rabo Day.

I asked Bo if it was okay that he spent dinner with me instead of his family. I mean, I'm just the girlfriend. I came into his life a few years ago. His family has been there for him since forever.

But he said no, they didn't mind.

And I couldn't help thinking how lucky I am to be loved by this sweet, (occasionally childish) man-boy. <3

God-willing, there will be more Rabo Days for us in the future. And maybe, just maybe, I'd be the one cooking dinner then.

:p

Wednesday, October 26, 2011

Rabo Day Part 1 (Year 2)

Happy happy Rabo Day!

So Rabo Day was actually two days ago but I wasn't able to write about it on account of exhaustion and this SuperBug causing havoc into my already weakened immune system.

We had grand plans for the Pre-Rabo day, which fell on a Sunday, and it would have been perfect for everyone except that plans don't really happen as you plan it.

The original plan was to join the "Run for Melinda" (a fun run for people we loved and lost... a sad story but more on this someday), after which the barkada would go to Junie's place where we would have our cook-out.

Bo and I had already registered for the run. However, here's where things got awry.

As I mentioned, I've already been a bit sick for some days now. The night before the fun run, I had a fever. Add that to a runny nose and a hacking cough, I was in no condition to run at all. Then Avin got sick, too, and so Arame couldn't come. Junie and Mark slept through it all. In the end, only Kara, Diaz and three other capoeiristas came. And then June texted there was no electricity in their place.

Plan 2 was to have it on my house. But that would have been too much of a hassle to most people because I live FAR AWAY.

So Plan 3 was to have it at Diaz's apartment. June then texted she couldn't make it because she had to get her Tita from the airport. And where June goes, Mark follows. Avin was already sick, so that counted Arame out as well. So our guest list had already dwindled.

But we went through with it anyway. And it was fun. Diaz and Kara were there (obviously, since it was at Diaz's place). Neo and our Master Chef, Yotch(?) and Keng a.k.a. Papi (who was late because he spent the day photographing vain young ladies with pouty lips) also came.

We had Yotch's special pork adobo, Diaz's spagghetti (which was too salty because Kara added to much salt which was partly my fault because when she asked if we wanted the spag a little salty I said yes) and the super sweet fruit salad. All in all, it was very burpy.

I had to go home earlier than everyone though, which was a shame, because I still had duty the following morning.

And that ends pre-Rabo Day. Rabo Day itself is much more dramatic (and involves some tears and a lot of shit), but more on that later.

<3

Sunday, October 16, 2011

Playing Hooky

Yes, I'm going to play Hooky. It's Sunday afternoon and the heat outside makes me think that the there's a huge gaping ozone layer hole right above my head. I don't fancy going out of the house right now. And besides, I have been blowing my nose off for the past few days. I'm not in the best state of health right now. (Note: I will never underestimate the power of a URTI's ability to make one's life miserable.)

And besides, I'm in no mood to dance.

We have dance practice in an hour. (And as I said, I'm playing Hooky)

It's been a Hospital tradition since time immemorial to have a Halloween Party. And the highlight every year is the BIG DANCE COMPETITION between the four big specialties: Pediatrics, Surgery, Internal Medicine and Obstetrics. And if there's something that doctors and soon-to-be-doctors-in-the-hopefully-near-future have in common, it's to WIN.

I am under Pediatrics. Last year, the department won so our residents are bent on winning again.

Did I ever mention that I have to left foots (or should I say feet?). Or maybe it's two rights. Whatever. The thing is, I'm NOT A DANCER. I don't have the proper eye-brain-extremities coordination. And I'm as stiff as a pole. Seriously. It's embarrassing.

But the thing is, I believe there's an inner dance diva deep down inside. Super deep down, by the looks of it. I actually want to dance. But everytime the dance instructors teach us a dance step, I stand there clueless. I can't seem to get my body to do the right thing.

We have two more weeks to pull this off. We don't have much time.

Que sera, sera...

<3

Monday, October 10, 2011

Lazy Monday Morning

It just came to me, that I haven't had a lazy Monday morning since March. Every Monday morning (and practically every morning) starting Internship has been a race against time and the barring of the attendance log-book. (For the record, it takes me about two motorcycle and two jeepney rides to get to the hospital.)

So life updates:

1. We got a new dog (or puppy rather) and his (her?) name is Doug. It was my siblings' idea. I would have been far more creative. Like... Blackie, or something. He's adorable and lazy and our house is turning into his very own doghouse. I hope he doesn't grow up too fast.

2. I haven't had my graduation pic taken yet. I'm a very camera shy person. And although I know everything's going to be edited later on, I don't want to go on cam with this big zit on my face. So I've been postponing and postponing and I bet I'm giving our class president a headache because the pictures need to be in so that the layout for Yearbook will be started early. Well at least I'm not the only one. I promise to have it taken tomorrow since I have free time. :)

3. The hardcopy of our Psychiatry presentation is weighing heavily on my mind. It's three months late and I'm considering not turning it in, hoping they've forgotten about it.

4. Practice for the Halloween Presentations start this afternoon. I think it's going to be fun and I'm just a wee bit excited about it. More on it later.

So. I know, I know. I'm terrible. I should get my lazy bum off this chair and start organizing my life and tying up loose ends. *sigh* But let me just enjoy this morning a little bit more.

:)

Thursday, October 6, 2011

A Couch Potato at Alejandro's

I'm the most unadventurous person I know. My idea of a perfect weekend is to wake up late and spend the day rolling in bed, reading a book, or watching pirated DVDs of Grey's Anatomy or House, MD. I have to force myself to go out and have a good time. And when I actually manage to get myself out of the house and go somewhere fun, I end up wanting to go home by the end of half an hour.

I need to get a life outside the pages of my latest novel. (I am currently hooked to the Robert Jordan's The Wheel of Time and am currently at page 300 of 3000-something)

So yesterday, the gang (my capoeira friends, the only people I hang out with) went to Alejandro's, this bar near our university hospital, for some fun, booze, and trivia night.

I have never set foot inside Alejandro's, despite the fact that: (a) this bar is a frequent hangout of my classmates (who I'm ashamed to say I don't hang out much with) and (b) during my 1st to 3rd year of med school I lived just 2 blocks away.

Alejandro's is a pretty cool place. It's small and homey and people seem to know each other. It was loud and crammed with people (two things I avoid like the plague). We joined Trivia Night for the first time ever and we were thrilled at not being the team with the least score. The questions were out of this world (or maybe simply just out of my time... e.g In the 1983 single by ... blah blah blah... I mean seriously, I wasn't even an egg cell / sperm cell then).

But I have to admit it was fun, simply because I was with my Barkada. So, I just might go again next Wednesday (or the Wednesday after because Bo has his final exams).

I'm wishing myself luck.

:)

Tuesday, October 4, 2011

Where's My Joy

"Canarinha, where's my joy?"

One of my most favorite person in the whole world used to always ask me that. She'd smile this big, sunshiny smile and I'd smile back, erasing this tiny frown which has a found a home between my eyebrows.

I am actually not a gloomy person by nature. (surprise, surprise!). Although once a friend described me as having this tiny thundercloud complete with rain and flashes of lightning, above my head. The same friend also told me that when the time comes that he sees me smiling first thing in the morning, he'll take it as a sure sign that the world is nearly coming to an end.

Another friend was more straightforward. "Why are you always frowning?" he asked me bluntly one day.

It kind of surprised me. The thing is, I am seldom quite aware of this tiny frown i'm always wearing. It's like I've grown so used to it that I don't see it anymore. I wonder if I've always been like this. I wonder if there ever was a time when somebody saw me as a sunshiny creature. Hmmmm. Not likely. I seriously doubt it.

A while ago, as I took temperatures and counted heartbeats and breaths , I started pondering about one of life's most asked question: how can I end up living happily ever after? After that, I saw this father looking through the nursery's glass window at his baby. He had such a tender expression on his face and I thought to myself, "That is love. That is joy." And as I watched, I felt joy in my heart too.

"Where's my joy?" The thing is, joy is everywhere. It's both outside and inside. It's in heaven and it's on earth. Sometimes, you just have to take a good look at what has always been right there in front of your face and inside your heart all along.

Monday, October 3, 2011

PCAPs and murmurs

My first day of Urban Community Rotation was basically a PCAP-y kind of day. We saw around 70 patients, 80% of which were children under 5 who either came in for complaints of cough, colds and fever or came in for follow-up after five days of antibiotic treatment for diagnosed PCAP.

There were just three of us doing the consultations. Basically everyone had to go through the Interns (that's me and my partner) before being seen by the Attending Physician. So except for a very few who went directly to the real doctor (because the interns had their hands full calculating recommended dosages), everybody went through us first.

My diagnostic reasoning went like this. Chief complaint of cough, cold and fever. Rales on auscultation? No = URTI. Yes = Pneumonia.

The whole day went like this with one or two hypertensives and one Acute Gastritis (Epigastric tenderness? Yes. Fever? No. Nausea & Vomiting? No. Psoas and Obturator Sign? No. Acute Gastritis) thrown in for variety.

My last two patients were two little girls, siblings. Both of them came for monthly check-up for the Feeding Program (or something like it). Both were underweight. The elder sister in particular, was below the -2SD line. Her lung auscultation revealed clear breath sounds. But then there was something not quite right with her heart auscultation. I detected a murmur on the left upper sternal border. A brief history from the mom revealed easy fatigability and episodes of circumoral cyanosis when she cries. Very suspicious.

When the AP confirmed it was indeed a murmur although she could not quite tell what kind (which makes me feel a bit better for not being able to better describe the murmur myself), part of me felt just a wee bit proud that I had detected the murmur and now she could be properly assessed for cardiac abnormalities. Part of me felt ashamed for feeling proud when every medical intern at this level should by now detect a murmur, for goodness sake!

And that's how thoughts of Pediatric Cardiology once again tickled my fickle brain.

Post-Pediatrics

I have just finished my 2-month Pediatrics Rotation and I've learned quite a lot of things like... umm... Well I'm pretty sure I learned something other than how to monitor 20 patients in one hour and how to do marathon histories. It's there in my head. Somewhere.

And I learned that I love working with kids.

I have always adored children. They're simply irresistible, even when they're crying their head off thinking you were there to give them injections. Okay, sometimes, just sometimes, I find them a wee bit annoying. I am human, after all.

In the middle of the rotation, I even considered going into Pediatrics. In fact, I'm still thinking about it. I'm thinking of becoming a Pediatric Cardiologist and then going into Invasive Cardiology. But then to get there, I have to go through diagnosing a gazillion PCAPs. For the past few months, we've been having a LOT of PCAPs. It's driving me a little nuts.

And so that's why I'm still not sold out to Pediatrics.

After doing the 2 month stint, I was overjoyed. I love kids. But 2 months of zombie monitoring is my limit.