At last. (Yeah, I've got procrastination issues.)
Rabo Day itself started in the most normal way possible. I went to duty at the Skin Clinic while Bo slept the morning away at Diaz's place. I came around 12 and we had lunch together. Or at least I ate lunch and he watched.
Our plans for the afternoon include watching a movie. Keyword: Plans.
We spent the rest of the afternoon hanging out at his house. I had practice that evening for Halloween Dance Presentation and I texted an excuse which i then sent to MY MOTHER!
So now I had to get home as fast as I could in case my mother asks why I'm NOT AT PRACTICE AND NOT AT HOME at the the same time. I could tell her it was Bo's birthday but then she'd probably say we already had a party the day before. (I live in constant fear of not being at home when mama calls.)
So anyway, I kind of panicked and Bo got mad. But the thing is, we're both passive-aggressive so our fights are kind of like this.
BO: *super silent*
Me: Are you mad at me?
Bo: No. *silence*
Me: You're mad at me.
Bo: I'm not mad at you. *obviously mad in a silent passive-aggressive way*
I was supposed to do the grocery that day and he insisted that we do it since we haven't done anything at all that day. He was super silent all the way and it made me frustrated and miserable at the same time because it was his birthday and all I did was to make him mad.
To make a long story short, I was so mad and miserable that I ended up in tears, which only made him annoyed. But I guess it did the trick because by the time we were nearly home, he wasn't quite mad anymore.
We ended up making his birthday dinner. He asked his mother for a complicated recipe which involved chicken and pineapple tidbits. I am hopeless in the kitchen by the way so I offered to do the dishes afterwards and to pay for all the dinner expenses.
When we got home, it was a DISASTER. I think I've mentioned Doug the Dog before. That puppy knows only a few things in this life. It involves eating, sleeping, eating, peeing, eating, shitting. So when I got home, there was all this lovely puddles of pee and mounds of poo in various strategic corner of the house (something about marking territories, probably) which I HAD TO CLEAN UP. Being sick doesn't help matters and even my stuffy nose did not protect me from the yucky aroma of doggy poo.
But in the end, I managed to clean up while Bo scolded Doug and trapped him in a big box.
He then proceeded to dish up a meal and I'm not saying this because I'm biased (or maybe I am) but it tasted pretty good. The dessert was another matter. It was so sweet and I couldn't take more than a few bites. I think there's still some kaong swimming in condense milk (all the pineapple tidbits got selectively eaten) in the refrigerator.
We then finished watching the Warrior's Way. (PS. I so love the baby!)
And so that ends Rabo Day.
I asked Bo if it was okay that he spent dinner with me instead of his family. I mean, I'm just the girlfriend. I came into his life a few years ago. His family has been there for him since forever.
But he said no, they didn't mind.
And I couldn't help thinking how lucky I am to be loved by this sweet, (occasionally childish) man-boy. <3
God-willing, there will be more Rabo Days for us in the future. And maybe, just maybe, I'd be the one cooking dinner then.
:p
No comments:
Post a Comment