Happy happy Rabo Day!
So Rabo Day was actually two days ago but I wasn't able to write about it on account of exhaustion and this SuperBug causing havoc into my already weakened immune system.
We had grand plans for the Pre-Rabo day, which fell on a Sunday, and it would have been perfect for everyone except that plans don't really happen as you plan it.
The original plan was to join the "Run for Melinda" (a fun run for people we loved and lost... a sad story but more on this someday), after which the barkada would go to Junie's place where we would have our cook-out.
Bo and I had already registered for the run. However, here's where things got awry.
As I mentioned, I've already been a bit sick for some days now. The night before the fun run, I had a fever. Add that to a runny nose and a hacking cough, I was in no condition to run at all. Then Avin got sick, too, and so Arame couldn't come. Junie and Mark slept through it all. In the end, only Kara, Diaz and three other capoeiristas came. And then June texted there was no electricity in their place.
Plan 2 was to have it on my house. But that would have been too much of a hassle to most people because I live FAR AWAY.
So Plan 3 was to have it at Diaz's apartment. June then texted she couldn't make it because she had to get her Tita from the airport. And where June goes, Mark follows. Avin was already sick, so that counted Arame out as well. So our guest list had already dwindled.
But we went through with it anyway. And it was fun. Diaz and Kara were there (obviously, since it was at Diaz's place). Neo and our Master Chef, Yotch(?) and Keng a.k.a. Papi (who was late because he spent the day photographing vain young ladies with pouty lips) also came.
We had Yotch's special pork adobo, Diaz's spagghetti (which was too salty because Kara added to much salt which was partly my fault because when she asked if we wanted the spag a little salty I said yes) and the super sweet fruit salad. All in all, it was very burpy.
I had to go home earlier than everyone though, which was a shame, because I still had duty the following morning.
And that ends pre-Rabo Day. Rabo Day itself is much more dramatic (and involves some tears and a lot of shit), but more on that later.
<3
No comments:
Post a Comment